Serving Size of Syrup

While grocery shopping this morning, I decided to buy some syrup for my waffles. I found the aisle where the syrup was and starting looking over the nutrition facts of the different brands. I was really suprised to see that there were about 200 calories in a serving of normal syrup, but accepted it. I bought a bottle of Mrs. Butterworth’s Original Syrup and brought it home. When I got home, I cooked 2 waffles and decided to use some of the syrup I just bought. Just for fun, I decided to see exactly how much a serving is. According to the back of the package, the serving size is 1/4 of a cup. So I get a measuring cup out and measure out 1/4 of a cup and had an epiphany. This is the reason there are 210 calories in a serving. It’s because the serving is so huge. Seriously, who the hell puts this much syrup on their pancakes? I put about 1/8 of a cup on my waffles and they were still drowning in syrup.

Why is the serving size so big?

